News | 2/4/2014 12:05:26 PM | ROCHESTER AMERICANS

Photo: Steve Christy/Oklahoma City Barons

The American Hockey League announced today that Rochester Americans forward Luke Adam has been added to the AHL All-Star roster for the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Assante Wealth Management, joining fellow Amerk Brayden McNabb on the team.

The AHL All-Star Team will be facing off against Färjestad BK of the Swedish Hockey League in the two-day event, which will include the AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Feb. 11 and the AHL All-Star Game on Feb. 12 at Mile One Centre in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

Adam, a native of St. John’s, Newfoundland, has recorded 32 points on 19 goals and 13 assists in 29 games this season to rank second on the Amerks in scoring. His 19 goals rank tied for sixth in the AHL while his 10 power-play goals rank tied for third in the league. The 23-year-old Adam has also scored one goal in nine games with the Buffalo Sabres of the NHL this season.

This marks the second career AHL All-Star selection for Adam, who also played in the 2011 All-Star Classic while a member of the Portland Pirates. In 180 career AHL games with Rochester and Portland, Adam has recorded 144 points (67+77) and 137 penalty minutes. He has also registered 26 points (15+11) and 30 penalty minutes in 84 NHL games with the Sabres. In 2010-11, he was awarded the Dudley (Red) Garrett Memorial Award as the AHL’s outstanding rookie and named to the AHL All-Rookie Team. Adam was selected by Buffalo in the second round (44th overall) of the 2008 NHL Entry Draft.

The AHL All-Star team roster stands at 22 players – 13 forwards, seven defensemen and two goaltenders –selected by a committee of AHL coaches and general managers. The AHL All-Stars will be led in St. John’s by Jeff Blashill, head coach of the 2013 Calder Cup champion Grand Rapids Griffins, and Rob Zettler, head coach of the defending Eastern Conference champion Syracuse Crunch.

Sportsnet ONE will televise the AHL All-Star Classic live across Canada, and the league’s showcase event will be seen throughout the United States on NHL Network as well on regional networks including MSG Network, serving the New York City metro area and upstate New York. Time Warner Cable customers in New York State will get to see the AHL All-Star Classic on their local TWC sports channels.

A limited number of tickets remain available for the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic. They can be purchased in person in person at the Mile One Centre box office (12-5 NT), by phone at 709-576-7657 (9:30-5:30 NT), or online at Tickets for the two-day event are $100 (plus taxes and surcharges) and include admission to both the All-Star Skills Competition on Feb. 11 and the All-Star Game on Feb. 12. Tickets are also available for the “Taste of Newfoundland” welcome reception on Feb. 10 and the 2014 AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony on Feb. 12.

The 2014 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Assante Wealth Management will be the 20th edition of the modern AHL All-Star event, and the first to feature an international opponent. Of the 630 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since the event was reinstated in 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League.

2014 AHL All-Star Team

Spencer Abbott, Toronto Marlies (Toronto)
Luke Adam, Rochester Americans (Buffalo)
Brett Connolly, Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay)
Brian Gibbons, W-B/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh)
Mike Hoffman, Binghamton Senators (Ottawa)
Jason Jaffray, St. John’s IceCaps (Winnipeg)
Travis Morin, Texas Stars (Dallas)
Brandon Pirri, Rockford IceHogs (Chicago)
Colton Sceviour, Texas Stars (Dallas)
Colton Sissons, Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville)
Ben Street, Abbotsford Heat (Calgary)
Ryan Strome, Bridgeport Sound Tigers (N.Y. Islanders)
Joe Whitney, Albany Devils (New Jersey)

Chad Billins, Abbotsford Heat (Calgary)
T.J. Brennan, Toronto Marlies (Toronto)
Cody Goloubef, Springfield Falcons (Columbus)
Brenden Kichton, St. John’s IceCaps (Winnipeg)
Alexey Marchenko, Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit)
Brayden McNabb, Rochester Americans (Buffalo)
Frederic St. Denis, Springfield Falcons (Columbus)

Jake Allen, Chicago Wolves (St. Louis)
Dustin Tokarski, Hamilton Bulldogs (Montreal)